San Juan Bautista

Native Americans of San Juan Bautista

Costanoan is a language family of California Native Americans who "lived in approximately 50 separate and politically autonomous nations or tribelets," according to Professor Richard Levy. Seven missions were established in Costanoan territory: Mission Carmel and the two missions that ring it, San Juan Bautista and Soledad; and four missions in the San Francisco Bay area: San Jose, Santa Clara, Santa Cruz and San Francisco de Asis. [inline:sjb-05-costanoans-fighting.jpg=COSTANOANS FIGHTING SPANISH SOLDIER - 1791]

Related Mission: